Hyvästi Suomi

“Music begins where the possibilities of language end.” Jean Sibelius

The past few days have been enlightening and inspiring. I’ve visited the East Helsinki Music School and witnessed some wonderful examples of how to teach music to children, and met some amazingly talented young people.

 
I’ve visited the Sibelius Academy, the music school of the University of the Arts, and heard about their music education degree. I’ve spoken at the Association of Finnish Orchestras conference of CEOs and I’ve had detailed chats about the collaborative KUULE! project, which brings together five organisations in a unique partnership, really exemplifying best practice in music education. 

I’ve truly been blown away by the activity happening here in Helsinki, and from what I understand, across Finland. Did it live up to my expectations? 

  • Cold – yes, very!
  • Dark- yes, very!
  • Fish- some, but not as much as expected.
  • The music educational activities – yes and so much more.

I’m leaving with my head buzzing with ideas and so much more to read and explore in my own time. 

So farewell beautiful Suomi! I have had a thoroughly uplifting cultural and learning experience. A return trip is already in the pipeline…

   

Leave a comment